In the mid-19th century, a wealthy
Tatar entrepreneur named Sharafbay (Sharafiddin Bay) built a mosque, which
survives today in a reduced form: when Farabi Street was widened in the 1970s,
the minaret and part of the fence were demolished.
Currently, the building remains,
complete with a dome, plastered interior, and an aiwan with a painted ceiling
on carved columns and carved ornamentation on the walls.
The building houses the Kushtut
Gallery, featuring exhibits on calligraphy and old handwritten manuscripts.
During the reconstruction of the
aiwan, part of the ceiling and columns were left in their original form.

Tashkent residents are well familiar with the three-story brick building with a rounded corner to t...

The 17-story “Uzbekistan” Hotel is one of the capital’s most recognizable symbols. Located in the v...

In 1901, the Treasury Chamber received its own building, specially constructed by architect V. S. ...

Opened in 1972, the Main Department Store (GUM) is an exemplary combination of functionality and m...